Usage of grasshopper in Affordable housing

Hello there everyone!

I am doing my graduation project on Affordable Housing and i will integrate solar panels and humidifiers within the project. In what ways can Grasshopper assist me in terms of Building Typology, optimization, functional spaces and other categories to make the best out of the project?

Many Thanks, Nahel

In anyway you want. It is up to you to define.

1 Like

Maybe something like this could inspire (i.e. open source, CNC-millable, simple joinery etc):

Pretty sure there are more projects like this if I recall.

1 Like

@Michael_Pryor I realise that, but i was hoping for more specific response. I am fairly new to grasshopper, still in the learning process

@AndersDeleuran Woah! that looks really nice, i have looked into it and will do more analysis. Definitely an inspiration! I wouldnt mind more resources if you have any, thanks!

To be true it’s quite a vague question with an endless amount of answers.

Ladybug/Honeybee provide some nice tools for solar/radiation analysis. Also for comfort etc. you can use for optimizations. Direction/openings and so on.

There are also ways to optimize room arrangements and so on, but I would say, that’s something better done by hand. I know about my former professor, that he created a program for while studying and sold it to a company. They can do now the one millionth office building, optimized for the ground plan, but looking all the same.

In general, I would say, geometrically you can do with grasshopper whatever you want, No limits. But in my opinion, your main tool should be the optimization. There are many examples around the forum about radiation, but also about cost-effectiveness etc.

1 Like

Thanks for your kind reply Tim!