Trying to understand functions

I am a spaghetti coder. I know I could keep scripting in one (Sub/End Sub) but I am trying to learn why I may need functions within the script and how it may help, or if there is good reason to try and find potential functions within the sub. I have tried to create a functions enclosing the math but I am missing something as they are overlooked/skipped when debugged.
In a nutshell would finding and creating functions within the attached script help or is it acceptable without functions.
Just trying to learn
Thanks-Mike

indent preformatted text by 4 spacesOption Explicit

'Script written by
'Script copyrighted by
'Script version Sunday, September 06, 2015 8:17:28 AM

Call LastFretDistance()

Sub LastFretDistance()

Dim scaleLength : scaleLength = Rhino.GetReal("Enter scaleLength ")
Dim numberFrets : numberFrets = Rhino.GetReal("Enter numberFrets")
Dim lastFretDistance : lastFretDistance = scaleLength - (scaleLength / (2 ^ (numberFrets / 12))) 
Dim Yend : Yend = 2 'Y Work in progress 2" for gui representation. Taper math next
Dim Zend : Zend = 0 'Work in Progress
Dim Xstart : Xstart = 0 'G54 zero
Dim Ystart : Ystart = 0 'G54 zero
Dim Zstart : Zstart = 0 'G54 zero
Dim fretSlot : fretSlot = 0 'Fret location counter
'Var fret @ fretSlot #0 == nut location and will need To be offset by half the mill kerf In the opposite direction of last fret
Dim currPoint : currPoint = scaleLength - fret ' resets scale length math for the next fret during loop
Dim fret : fret = 0 'X recursive location of the next fret by adding Var nextPoint to itself X location during loop
Dim nextPoint : nextPoint = 0 'Math for each frets Location X Position during loop
Dim divMath : divMath = 17.817'Scale length constant (fret 1 =(scale / 17.817) & (fret 2 = (scale - fret 1)/ 18.817)etc..
Rhino.MessageBox("Your G54 location will be = " & "X" & Xstart & " Y" & Ystart & " Z" & Zstart) 'Verify G54 location