Trying to make a curve from points in different circles in Python script in GH

Hi everyone,

I am a freshman of GH. Nice to meet you!

Here I met a problem of python coding in GH.

Here is my code

Q1- code

My goal here is to make a loft over the circles that have been inserted. X is a list of XYZ coordinates, so spot is an item in that list. What I am trying to do is get a curve from the circles I am creating, and then from that curve, I would like to make a loft over everything.
The problem here is that I get the error “1. Solution exception:unsupported operand type(s) for -: ‘Vector3d’ and ‘tuple’” on the line of “point = rs.PointAdd(spot - (0,scaleList[i], 0)).”
–The purpose of that line is to get a point on the circle and then eventually add it to a curve.
If someone could give me advice on what to do (because I am sure that this isn’t the most efficient way to make a loft) that would be great!
Thanks

Welcome @Daniel_Z,

It’s not exactly clear to me what you’re up to, but here are a few things that you could do differently!

Instead of using the variable i and incrementing it inside the for loop, you can simply use
for i, spot in enumerate(x):. You can get rid of i = 0 and i += 1.

Furthermore, if you want to add an item at the end of a list, you can simply use circleList.append(round)!

The error is caused by you trying to subtract the tuple (0, scaleList[i]), 0) from x[i], which seems to be a vector. You can only subtract points or vectors from vectors! Slinging parentheses around three numbers doesn’t make it a point or vector though.
First you need to create a vector with rs.CreateVector(0, scaleList[i]), 0) and then subtract the new vector from x[i]. By the way, you can do the vector creation and subtraction in one line!

I hope this helps.

A file to work with would have been nice a nice touch!

@diff-arch Thanks so much, that helped a lot.

Here is what I have so far
Q1 - code2.0