Triangular Ceiling

(Zaza Dave) #1

Hi All,
I’m new to the grasshopper. I tried to create triangles ceiling with its support skeleton as in the image attached, but I guess something went wrong because the result looks different.
Any Ideas?

TRIANGULAR CEILING.3dm (30.5 KB)
TRIANGULAR CEILING.gh (15.8 KB)

(Ryan Hughes) #2

Hi Zaza,

The spacing on the array was off because the distance from one vertex on the triangle to the next is different to the Y spacing (you can get the Y coordinates using the Deconstruct component and then subtract them to get the Y distance).

Next, I created a cluster (you can double click it to open it) that checks the Z component of the surface frame against the world Z direction using the Dot Product component. Based on the result we can choose to use the surface Z or a flipped version to ensure all of the extrusions happen upwards.

Next, you would need to find some nice planes to trim your geometry to make sure it doesn’t intersect. Maybe try and offset those planes towards the inside of the triangle to get a “shadow gap” - it will look much more realistic when rendered as no two geometries ever join perfectly in the real world. You can give that a shot :wink:

TRIANGULAR CEILING.gh (20.5 KB)

I’m not sure if this is of some help to you, anyway according to your image, this could be one solution IMO…

TRIANGULAR CEILING_re.gh (15.3 KB)

(Zaza Dave) #4

Hi Ryan,
Great!, really I missed Dcomp to extract the Y coordinates, and Dot Product was really helpful to ensure the Z direction, and will give a try about trimming the geometries with a shadow gap as you said, its really interesting…
Thanks a lot and appreciate your help and time

Warm Regards,
zaza

(Zaza Dave) #5

Hi Kim,