Topography

Hi i am still kind of new to rhino and i have to create a topography surface. i have the contour lines raised but i still am unable to create the topo. would anybody be able to help? please i need to figure this out

Can you please post your 3dm file with contour lines?

suretopo updated.3dm (5.0 MB)

Your curves are all in the same plane. They are 2D curves.
There is nothing 3D here to make anything that has elevation relief.

but when you look at the front view the lines are all raised

so how do i make it 3d?

Manually.

First, in Preferences>Modeling Aids>Nudge, set the nudge increment to the desired topo line elevation spacing. (how much you want a topo line to represent, 1 foot, 1 meter, etc.)

1. You have to decide which curve or curves represent(s) the lowest part of the terrain (topo lines are arbitrary if they don’t have an elevation attached to them)
  2. Select the lowest curve(s) with Shift+click and hit the Lock button to lock them
  3. Cmd+A to select all the remaining (unlocked) curves
  4. Hit the “PageUp” key (if you have a wired keyboard) or fn+Up arrow if you are on a laptop or have a keyboard without PageUP. All the selected curves will move UP one increment.
  5. Select the next lowest curve(s), hit Lock… Note that several disconnected curves may be at the same height, so you will need to check your model all the time and make sure you have gotten all the curves at each level.
  6. Continue the above procedure of nudging and locking the lowest until all the curves have been mounted to the correct height, then use the Unlock button to unlock all the curves.
  7. Select all the 3D curves and try running Patch through them. The more control points you have the better it will conform to the topo lines; the stiffness setting also will influence the fitting of the surface.

HTH, --Mitch

thank you so much which one for the nudge would i change?52 AM

I would just change the Nudge key alone - easier that way. --Mitch