Time to leave V-Ray? Some feedback about Bella Render

After Chaos New V-Ray subscription plans and other changes mail i’m thinking about trying other options.
I’ve been using and teaching V-Ray for Rhino for the last 10 years.

Does anybody use Bella Render for professional projects?

The demo mode is limited to 720p (1280x720, by area) and thats not enough for a real test, at least for me because it’s not even a draft resolution.

Could anybody give me some feedback about Bella Render?

Thanks in advance

Hi Nachetz, our demo rez restriction is 720p because we do not put any time limit on it, so it is good for seeing whether you like the workflow/plugins/etc, and for letting hobbyists play with it indefinitely. But if you need to test at higher rez, I can send you a 30 day full license for more comprehensive testing.

8 Likes

Hi!

thanks a lot for you offering. Would you mind if i send you a DM and explain why i’d like to test Hi-res?

Thanks again

Not at all, feel free.

1 Like

Does Bella GUI has a white GUI? This black everywhere just kills me - awful for people with astigmatism!

Sorry, but it currently does not. But it is not something you have to use, either, though it is recommended to send scenes there for final rendering.

@12Lab any news regarding switching Vray/Bella? I am using keyshot for many years and want to escape from it. I have Vray and Bella on the list, so very curiously how did you decide.

i never used keyshot, but what is your reason for trying to leave it behind? @ThomasAn has some experience with Bella maybe he can elaborate some advantages. i have gathered from him that it was developed by the initial team from maxwell. i´d say quality like it ought to be good.

@Gijs is using Vray maybe he can comment.

First of all, I hate subscriptions. I already made the mistake with Adobe and regret it ever since. Thing is that you need to be a full time user of the software year in year out to make a subscription worthwhile.