Tidying up surfaces in igs file?

Hi, again apologies that I’m a bit of a novice with Rhino. I’m using Rhino and Madcam to create model aircraft moulds.

I’m in Australia and a modelling colleague in the UK has helped me by drawing up a new wing design which I want to work on in Rhino. He’s a CAD professional and used Catia, and sent me the file as an iges file. I can import it OK and it looks good, but I am having trouble working with it. (attached)Wing.igs (1.5 MB)

He and young family are moving house right now so I don’t want to bother him too much!

I need to be able to select the edge of the wing shape, right on the tip of the leading edge and half of the depth of the trailing edge, as the parting plane line and the reference for toolpaths. When I’ve drawn up wings in Rhino I’ve had a distinct edge to work on, but this drawing doesn’t seem to have surfaces following that edge all the way round.

I also need to have the model completely closed with no naked edges, so that it can be successfully Boolean subtracted from a solid to leave the negative shape.

Can anyone give me some advice on how I would tidy this up (without losing its accuracy) or does it need to be saved differently?

I only just noticed “OpenNurbs” and wondered if that was something that would be useful in sending such files from other programs for use in Rhino? I will never be a CAD expert, so I am always likely to be using drawings from other guys who use programs like Catia, 3Dmax or Solidworks.

Thanks, Andrew

There’s some bad objects (SelBadObjects command) in the drawing, running over the leading edge.

Also, the wing can’t be closed due to, in part, these bad objects and modeling inaccuracies (as compared to the tolerance). Even with 0.1 mm tolerance (100x higher that in the file), the wing won’t close due to edges having inconsistent surface normals. You can use the Dir command to make the normals consistently point outwards. Then joining may be more successful.