Surface issue

Hi…

I’ve been using Rhino 3D for over 4 years now, and I’ve never had this issue come up before. I spread my workload over my office desktop and home office desktop… both are similar machines and run current copies of V5.

I started building a model of a trade show booth a few days ago on my home PC, worked on it at my office and then went to work on it again at home. I found a portion of the components seemed to be “missing” in rendered, shaded and pen views. I thought that I had accidently deleted something, but I found the pieces… but they were invisible. I could highlight the pieces, I could modify them (scale), but they had no fill, or lines. All layers were visible, no objects were hidden, I didn’t have any transparency applied to the pieces, and there was no texture mapping. When I opened the file back up at my office, everything was normal again.

I build a large portion of my models with closed polylines extruded to a required size. Just trying to troubleshoot, I exploded every surface in the model… which made everything visible again, but I couldn’t create solids at this point.

Rhino has always been a stable program for me, but I can’t think of anything else to look at right now to make sure that I don’t have this happen again. Does anyone have any suggestions for things to look for?

Thanks!

Jeff

I think it would be helpful if you clarified exactly what you mean by “current copies of V5”, which operating system(s) you have, and which video cards and their drivers are in each machine. I’m pretty sure the McNeel folks would want to know this info. They probably will have even more questions and no doubt will want to have a copy of your .3dm file or a subset of it that displays the issue.

Thanks…

At work I use an ASUS i7 @ 3.4, 16GB RAM, Windows 7 PRO with a NVIDIA Quadro 2000. At home it’s an HP I7 4770 @ 3.4, Windows 8 with a NVIDIA Geforce GT 635. Obviously not the same machine, but I have run the 2 without issue.