Spacing of Geometry along Curve & Variable Height Extrusion

(Aideenmod) #1

Hello,

I’m new to grasshopper and having trouble to figure this one out. I need to space a geometry along a curve with the spacing being 2 times the length of one triangle edge as a radius to where it cuts the curve as shown in the picture.

The attached file is working relatively well however the spacing is messured with 2 times the length of one triangle edge along the curve as so is not accurate.

Does anyone know how to solve this?

Thank you!!

geo spaced on curve.gh (17.5 KB)

Basic geometry problems interpolate crv and rotate rectangles

You didn’t internalize your geometry:

missing

(Aideenmod) #3

It should be in this one.

Thanks!

geo spaced on curve.gh (18.7 KB)

This is hasty and doesn’t align the triangle as you did, with two vertices touching the curve… Basically though, you want to use DivDist.

geo_spaced_on_curve_2018Feb12a.gh (14.6 KB)

This version aligns the triangles by their “base points” but as you can see, it fails on the last one because the curve ends too soon. so to speak: Later - Wait a second, I made a mistake… working on it…

geo_spaced_on_curve_2018Feb12b.gh (18.8 KB) (removed due to error)

Fixed that by by extending the curve (Ext), though that might cause trouble in some cases where the curve is already “just right”? Later - Wait a second, I made a mistake… working on it…

geo_spaced_on_curve_2018Feb12c.gh (20.9 KB) (removed due to error)

By the way, any particular reason your geometry is eighty-seven thousand units away from the origin? Inconvenient if it’s not necessary.

(Aideenmod) #6

Wow! Thank you so much Joseph. :slight_smile:

No, there’s no need for it to be so far from origin. The curve and sizing of the triangles are just a sketch. So can be changed. I just need a scritical of test many options.

Standby… Except for the first one, I made a mistake in versions ‘b’ and ‘c’ (which I will remove).