[SOLVED] Rhino 6 crash on startup (USB-C dock related)

Hello.

I’m an IT Tech and I was performing a full PC reinstall for my client due to issues not related to Rhino. After installing Rhino everything went fine - I was able to hook up owner’s rhino account and application started without problems. I got back to client’s desk, hooked up USB-C dock and started showing the client all the apps and modifications done. Imagine my surprise when Rhino had crashed right after double click. No welcome screen or even app screen, just crash report window.

I did some troubleshooting and digging through forums and was able to find similar problems and few posts steered me in the right direction. I was able to determine that the issue presents itself when there is USB-C dock with monitor connected to the laptop.

More on the issue itself. Laptop is Lenovo Yoga 730-15IKB. It is equipped with i5-8250U, integrated Intel UHD 620 GPU and dedicated GTX 1050 4GB GPU. Not a typical workstation, but my client uses it for checking the designs his employees had made and it’s perfectly capable for that task.
Issue started presenting itself on the latest drivers and software possible:

• Rhino 6 SR28
  • NVIDIA GPU driver: 451.77 Studio Driver (also tried latest Game Ready driver)
  • Intel GPU driver: 27.20.100.8581
  • DisplayLink (USB-C dock) driver: 9.4 M0
  • Windows 10 x64 2004 build (latest updates installed)
  • .NET Framework and VC++ Redistributables installed and updated.

Both Windows and Rhino are using Polish locale.

After some testing:

• USB-C dock connected, Rhino running on NVIDIA GPU - crash
  • USB-C dock connected, Rhino running on Intel GPU - works
  • USB-C dock disconnected, Rhino running on NVIDIA GPU - works
  • USB-C dock disconnected, Rhino running on Intel GPU - works
  • USB-C dock disconnected, starting Rhino running on NVIDIA GPU then connecting USB-C dock - works