Solid Cylinders / bars - How to create?

Forgive what may deserve the “silly question of the day award”, but I am new to Rhino3D.

I can create a square slab and show round holes in it;

I can create a cylinder and show a hole plunged into the side of it;

… but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to put holes through a solid round bar. I need to show a 98mm DIA by 11mm high steel flange. That flange has 4 OFF 8mm DIA holes drilled right through it (face to face).

Any pointers please… Ive tried all sorts and can’t figure it out!

Thanks
Jon

Hi John- you can use an array of cylinders and BooleanDifference them from the flange, or use RoudHole to get the holes in the flange. Attched is a way to do this with just combinations of cylinders. There are other ways to approach it…

-Pascal
Flange-Holes.3dm (106.5 KB)

Thanks Pascal,
The flange you crated with 4 OFF holes in it is almost exactly what I need to produce, except I need another identical flange at the other end of the collar.

I figured out how to get the holes in a square slab using “Round Hole”.

Ive also figure out how to create the smaller DIA tube and I can put "Round Hole"s in that too (within the wall thickness).

To get the “round slab” WITHOUT a hole in the middle (i.e. not a tube) I tried to create a tube with a wall thickness half of the diameter, but the round holes won’t go through it when I do the same as I did in the square slab… This makes me think Im not creating the base solid correctly.

In an idiots guide fashion, could you please expand on how to create a round slab of solid, in my case I need 98 DIA by 11 high. I should then hopefully be able to get the holes in it.

Thanks
Jon

Hi John- use Cylinder, Solid=Yes. That is what I made my example with. Another valid approach is to draw the cross section of your pipe with the flange etc- just one one side and Revolve it on the center line.

-Pascal