Slow preview for print preview

Last question ?

As soon as I specify a hatch pattern to my section print preview takes 1mn (or 2…)
(Raster or vector output)
Solid color a few seconds.

Is there a chance that 8 comes out faster ?

Good night :slight_smile:

There is a chance if you share a file that is exhibiting problems. We can try to figure out if there is any way to improve performance.

1 Like

Dear Steve

My zipped file is 50Mb.
Wetransfer link

My section style is set to custom with hatches.

Thanks

Hi Karim -

image

You might want to try sharing a link again, there’s none at this point.
-wim

Sorry !

https://wetransfer.com/downloads/62fc2b7dcb0c73a27c6b92ec9afbaf5f20231011095039/2822f4f553ae69fe42bd76f417d63c1020231011095057/04c4ca

Thanks

@Karim_tabbara here your file, Page 1 takes about 4 seconds to generate the pdf in the state you saved it.

I meant the preview window

Rhino is first jammed

Then it takes 3:04 minutes to display

Should I check anything ?
Can I choose to print to Adobe PDF with no preview 1st ?

Regards

Preview takes about 6 seconds here. Can you post your _SystemInfo?

Hi Karim -

When we open the file, the detail on the layout is in Wireframe mode. It looks different in your pictures and I assume that is because you are using a custom display mode. Can you reproduce the issue with a factory-default display mode?
-wim

I exported my RUI just in case
I did reset to factory settings my layout
I had only changed background and layout to white
No change

Those are the custom settings of the section

And my PDF file
kt_maison_graulhet_prj_ri_28_black_vector.pdf (1.1 MB)

My computer
OS version: Windows 10, 10.0, version 2009, build: 22621 (x64)
Hardware: X570 GAMING X, Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
CPU: AuthenticAMD AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor
Logical processors: 32
Processor groups: 1
RAM: 65460 MB total

Any way to print to adobe printer ?
Something I should try (windows settings ?)
Use utilities like WhySoSlow / HWMonitor / Belarc Advisor …

Hardware
Attached html file
(AMD).html (43.8 KB)

Best regards

and RUI file
AKT_ri_ui_20231011.rui (3.5 MB)

Hi Wim

I had a try on another Smaller project, rhino file
Must precise that those 2 projects were directly (and correctly) imported from SU

Same problem, same time just to display the print dialog box


This time All layers

  • layout color & layout print color set to black
  • section set to custom hatch1 45° scale 10

I’ll try on a native objects Rhino file

Interesting I’m on a 5950x as well and not seeing this behavior at all with your files. In Vector printing mode The original time to draw is less than 2 seconds.

I feel like there’s a display mode/document setting somewhere that must be to blame.

When you run the Options command and navigate to View → Display Modes are any of them Blue?

Please run SystemInfo in Rhino and post the results here

Hello Travis

Yes
Show tangent seam
Show Subd Symetry
Show curves
Show clipping planes
Show text
Show annotations
Show points
Show point clouds

I’ve just restored defaults

Copy paste of my SystemInfo command in Rhino

Rhino 8 SR0 2023-10-10 (Rhino 8 BETA, 8.0.23283.13003, Git hash:master @ 1c283efb3769710c424b3cae560e3031172a9267)
License type: Commercial, build 2023-10-10
License details: Stand-Alone
Expires on: 2023-11-24

Windows 11 (10.0.22621 SR0.0) or greater (Physical RAM: 64Gb)
.NET 7.0.0

Computer platform: DESKTOP

Standard graphics configuration.
Primary display and OpenGL: AMD Radeon RX 6900 XT (AMD) Memory: 16GB, Driver date: 6-26-2023 (M-D-Y). OpenGL Ver: 4.6.0 Compatibility Profile Context 23.7.1.230626
> Accelerated graphics device with 7 adapter port(s)
- Windows Main Display attached to adapter port #0

OpenGL Settings
Safe mode: Off
Use accelerated hardware modes: On
Redraw scene when viewports are exposed: On
Graphics level being used: OpenGL 4.6 (primary GPU’s maximum)

Anti-alias mode: 8x
Mip Map Filtering: Linear
Anisotropic Filtering Mode: High

Vendor Name: ATI Technologies Inc.
Render version: 4.6
Shading Language: 4.60
Driver Date: 6-26-2023
Driver Version: 31.0.21001.45002
Maximum Texture size: 16384 x 16384
Z-Buffer depth: 24 bits
Maximum Viewport size: 16384 x 16384
Total Video Memory: 16338 MB

Rhino plugins that do not ship with Rhino
C:\DATA\AKT Architecture\CAO\RHINO\plugins\blockeditnew202309011720\BlockEdit.rhp “BlockEdit” 1.0.0.0

Rhino plugins that ship with Rhino
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\Commands.rhp “Commands” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\WebBrowser.rhp “WebBrowser”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\rdk.rhp “Renderer Development Kit”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\RhinoScript.rhp “RhinoScript”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\RhinoBonusTools.rhp “Rhino Bonus Tools”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\IdleProcessor.rhp “IdleProcessor”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\RhinoRenderCycles.rhp “Rhino Render” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\rdk_etoui.rhp “RDK_EtoUI” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\NamedSnapshots.rhp “Snapshots”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\MeshCommands.rhp “MeshCommands” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\RhinoCycles.rhp “RhinoCycles” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\RhinoCode\RhinoCodePlugin.rhp “RhinoCodePlugin” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\Toolbars\Toolbars.rhp “Toolbars” 8.0.23283.13003
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\3dxrhino.rhp “3Dconnexion 3D Mouse”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\Displacement.rhp “Displacement”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\Calc.rhp “Calc”
C:\Program Files\Rhino 8 WIP\Plug-ins\SectionTools.rhp “SectionTools”

Thanks and sorry for all this trouble
Regards

Display mode rendered set to default
No change
The _print preview display windows still pops up 3 minutes later

Any other parameter to change ?
Maybe in AMD Radeon ?

Hi Karim -

When I open your xxx.3dm file, the layout “Page 1” opens, and when I run Print, I’m seeing this:

I can’t find any object, clipping plane, or layer that has a section style defined. Perhaps you sent the link to an older version of that file?

As you might notice from my screenshot, the display mode has been set to Wireframe - which is not the case in your picture.
This means that the display mode that you are using in that view does not exist on my machine. Restoring defaults will not change any of the custom display modes on your machine. Please find out which display mode you are using, export that, and post it here.

Apart from all that, the print dialog with the preview opens with a second or two with your file in the state that is available to me. Resizing the print dialog is somewhat sluggish and that behavior is on the list and is being looked at.
-wim

Strange behavior

Rhino open file
Rhino _Print
Display dialog box shows in 2s
Preview in 29s
But if I run once more _Print it takes 3mn

(AMD adrenalin Overclock do not change anything)

My Rhino display mode is AKT BW section
I’ve exported it
Attached to this post
AKT BW section.ini (14.1 KB)

You must be right, it seems related to display mode
If I use standard Shade mode, _Print window is displayed immediately

I tried to see what param in my display mode AKT BW section was affecting but could not find…
I’ll try creating a New “AKT BW section” from a copy of Shade mode

Thanks !

Thanks, I thought this might be the case.

I am now able to repeat your issue. We are working quickly to resolve another slow, lagging, geometry preview creation issue with the print dialog’s preview pipeline. It appears your file is stuck churning out geometry preview info, specifically vectors associated with the model + the fine hatch patterns on the section hatches, in the exact same fashion as the ticket. It’s my belief that when the ticket below is resolved, it will likely also resolve your issue as well.

https://mcneel.myjetbrains.com/youtrack/issue/RH-77627/Print-Vector-Print-Rhino-hangs-when-switching-between-layouts

4 posts were split to a new topic: Layer State issue