Shutter Animation - Solved

Hey, I am relatively new to Bongo, and i am trying to animate a shutter with several elements, following an curve. But there are 2 problems i can’t quite catch.

Picture 1)

Picture 2)

Picture 3)

As it can be seen in the attached pictures, the first element follows the path quite nicely until it reaches the horizontal part of the curve. There it instantly changes the orientation. I solved this once by turning the horizontal path before joining it to the curve, but i can not repeat this until now. The rotation of the last part of the curve still has influence how the element does change it’s orientation (left, right, up, down), but i can’t quite grasp how the orientation of the curve is connected to the function.

I did this animation with the “simple constraint” functions, with the “to path” for the following and “look along z up” for the orientation of the curve.

Picture 4)

When this is complete, i want the other elements hinge to the first element, and to the curve, so they follow the first element on a “rail”. Here i have no idea how to get this to work. All my attempts with IK-Chains and Joints just let the other elements follow the first element as a block, and not on the rail. Do you have any hints what i am missing?

Greetings,
Boreas

example.3dm (49.3 KB)

Here is the file, if you want to see it in 3d.

A file is always illuminating. Thanks for sending.

The To Path constraint forces the object along a curve without changing its orientation. The Look Along constraint does exactly the same but moreover alters the objects orientation keeping the constraint heading vector tangent to the curve. So there is no need to have both simultaneously.