SelEdgeLoop

Hello,
I’m a novice plugin developer, so I apologize beforehand if this has already been answered elsewhere.

Is there a way of ‘using’ the SelEdgeLoop command from within a plugin command?
By this I mean if there is any Rhino C++ SDK API function doing this same thing? (much like other RhinoXYZ functions for other commands…) I’ve also checked ON_Mesh with no luck…

I’m also aware of RhinoApp().RunScript(), and while this solution is not preferred, I could work with it. However, I do not know how edges can be selected from a script, if at all possible. I tried edge indices but it didn’t work.

[On a related side topic: is there any way to figure out the arguments you can pass into commands in script mode, i.e. RhinoApp().RunScript()?]

Thanks!
Victor

Hi Victor,

ON_SubDEdgeChain is the C++ SDK class that is closest in function to the SelEdgeLoop command. A combination of BeginEdgeChain and AddAllNeighbors (once in each direction) should get you close to what the command is doing.

Note that if what you want to do is allow the user to click one edge, and get the edge loop in return, then it is usually easier to rely on the subobject picking of Rhino. A CRhinoGetObject with the geometry filter set to CRhinoGetObject::meshedge_filter, and subobject selection enabled, will let the user select an edge loop with Ctrl+Shift+DoubleClick. You get a list of SubD edges returned, and can rebuild the edge chain with ON_SubDEdgeChain::SortEdgesIntoEdgeChains. That makes highlighting and pre-selection easier to sort out.

Basically everything that you can type in Rhino’s command line should work here, and prefixing command names with an hyphen - will allow more options. The online help lists them.

Hi Pierre,
Thanks for your answers.
I’m sorry I don’t think I explained what I am trying to do clearly.

I have an ON_Mesh object and an edge index. I need to find an edge loop on the mesh containing this edge. There is no user interaction involved.