Select surfaces by elevation

Hi there,
this is my first time asking a community question, so please let me know, if some info is missing.
I am working on a project, where I need to extract the outer surfaces of 3D buildings (original data is LOD2) and select them according to their type. It is kind of working and I generated the roof surfaces, walls, grounds etc via a Rhino macro. Now I‘d like to select from these various surfaces the ones that have their normal vector pointing upwards, like all the bottom surfaces and the flat roofs. That worked so far as well. When I tried to differentiate between the roofs (that are usually on a higher elevation) and the grounds, things got tricky. My attempt was to sum up all the z-values of one point of each surface and divide them by the number of surfaces. This should give me the average height of all the surfaces. Then I tried to dispatch my flat surfaces on the basis of this average height, but it doesn’t work. It generates two lists, but I can see it dispatches surfaces around the same height to different lists and some of them aren’t even selected at all. Does anyone have a hint for me, what I did wrong?

Thanks,
Carina

PS: I’m still new to Grasshopper, so I apologize for inelegant syntax. Please let me know, if there are other mistakes, that one should avoid in general.

wenigeHäuser_2DFlächen.3dm (7.3 MB)
select_distinct_surfaces.gh (17.1 KB)

Hi!
Welcome!

Your geometries are so far from the origin. It’s better to have them near the origin, so rhino math can work with better tolerances.

Try this:

select_distinct_surfaces re.gh (21.5 KB)
wenigeHäuser_2DFlächen.3dm (9.8 MB)

Thank you so much! The distinction works perfectly :smiley: (there is an average command… that would’ve saved me so much time. How did I not see this?!)