Select by Block Description

I am totally new to scripting in Rhino and i am trying to find a way to to deal with a specific problem. I am currently using Rhino 5 and I have a file with hundreds of different Blocks in it. I am trying to find a way to be able to select by the contents of the block description. Is this possible?

(Steve Baer) #2

Have you tried the SelBlockInstanceNamed command? That sounds like what you need without having to do any scripting.

Thank you for your reply. Yes I have tried that but unfortunately I can only select by block name and not by block description. Basically the blocks are named with a number (ex 00230) and in their description they have a text that describes them (material, person who made them, date of construction, date modified, date photographed etc…). I would like to search based on the content of this description and select for example all objects that constructed in 2008. I am not sure if i am making myself clear.

(Dale Fugier) #4

It is possible to write a script, using either RhinoScript or RhinoPython, to select block instances by their block description.

Here is an example of such a script using RhinoScript:

https://gist.github.com/dalefugier/5950022

For more information on RhinoScript, see the following link:

http://wiki.mcneel.com/developer/rhinoscript

– Dale

(Steve Baer) #5

Here’s the exact same script written in python

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs

def TestSelectBlockByDescription():
    instances = rs.ObjectsByType(rs.filter.instance)
    if not instances:
        print "No block instances found."
        return
    description = rs.GetString("Block description")
    if not description: return
    rs.EnableRedraw(False)
    for instance in instances:
        name = rs.BlockInstanceName(instance)
        instdesc = rs.BlockDescription(name)
        if instdesc and instdesc.lower()==description.lower():
            rs.SelectObject(instance)
    rs.EnableRedraw(True)

if __name__=="__main__":