Rooster with GH for Mac?

I’ve installed the Rooster Plugin and I’m getting all kinds of errors when I open a file that works great on Rhino for Windows. They seem centered around Rooster and NQuant. I know there are no doubt many reasons not to expect files to work cross-system, but I wonder if anyone knows whether Rooster can be used on a Mac at all?

I’m quite new to this, so please be nice - and also talk to me like I’m an eight grader since my Grasshopper knowledge is probably less.

Plugins that work on Mac will have an apple logo here.

Ahh. Of course. Thanks for pointing that out. I should have paid better attention. I’ll have to see if I can remove those components and find another solution to image manipulation.

Or just use bootcamp :grinning:

that is not fully correct, i successfully installed some plugins which do not exhibit an explicit apple logo.

Unknown

that is not fully correct, i successfully installed some plugins which do not exhibit an explicit apple logo.

It means the author did not intend it for mac (if it works it works, clearly it does not)

Unknown

I don’t use mac anyway so, then use a PC? :man_shrugging:

maybe, but that is not a real indicator for it to not function on mac, you dont want to discourage someone with incomplete information i hope.

you dont want to discourage someone with incomplete information i hope.

Actually I do, I wouldn’t want anyone relying on a plugin that may be supported one day and not the next (rhino update) because the dev is not targeting mac specifically.

k :man_shrugging:

@abeebe39 Long story short if you get errors chances are it does not work, additionally when you have questions like this it is always good to post what the actual errors are via screenshot.

:wink:

1 Like