RhinoCommon & Rhino menu

Hello,
It’s been many years, RMA’s ability to create a rhino menu was removed. it was a mistake.
Since then, many of us need to add a menu to the window, in Python or in C#.
Can you please re-include this in RhinoCommon ?

It’s possible through WINAPI, e.g. AppendMenu, and filtering WM_COMMAND event of the Rhino window.

And perhaps RUI files are the recommended way to achieve this.

Hello,

Yes, I know functions exist in C++. (which is why it’s a shame that the links are still not included).
Unfortunately, the RUI file isn’t really the answer to everything.
I had time to try to create the bidings. but I’m not a developer, I don’t understand C++.

Friends McNeel, today an artist, modeler, hobbyist can open an IDE and write a line of code.
But you know that, otherwise you wouldn’t be doing RhinoCode.

Please ! Add the links in RhinoCommon.
And it would be really nice not to wait a few years to get Rhino8 and maybe have those features.

Why was it removed?

It was removed in favour of RUI files. I agree that it is not ideal, but that is what it is.

Hello

There are examples in the past where I could read “it’s like that”.
Blender and its right click to select an object, today we have left click.
Or IE with its non-standard HTML/CSS, today Edge is Chronium by Microsoft.

What I mean is that it is not possible to override common usage.
from video or image editor, through email or internet browser, to file explorer or text software.
The contextual menu is on the right click. It may be stupid or it may not be. It’s common usage.
(I agree, it’s also a bit “it’s like that”)

Adding a menu with a few lines of script is a common usage.

I couldn’t agree more, but…

You can request McNeel staff that this is to be added as a feature. This will be “added to the pile”, and you can wait an unknown amount of time (read: multiple years) before it is added, if ever.