Rhino Python Script for Renaming Layers in multiple files with .XLSX tablesc

Hey all, I am new to Rhino Python and am looking for an easier way to do a painful task in Rhino. I am currently using Rhino 6 (we just upgraded from 5) to design aluminum ships. We need the ability to rename multiple layers (parent or child) to a specific name. I have been using the Python script I found from Steve Baer (FROM HERE)which works great if you only need to rename 1 layer. I have searched for days trying to piece this together and would love for someone to take a look and see if there is a better way. I have close to 500 “OldName” “NewName” instances in about 500 individual .3dm files.

Here is my current working script…

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
from scriptcontext import doc

def rename():
    layerName = ("OLDNAME")

matchingLayers = [layer for layer in doc.Layers if layer.Name == layerName]

layerToRename = None
    if len(matchingLayers) == 0:
        return
    if len(matchingLayers) == 1:
        layerToRename = matchingLayers[0]
    elif len(matchingLayers) > 1:
        i = 0;
        for layer in matchingLayers:
            print "({0}) {1}".format(
                i+1, matchingLayers[i].FullPath.replace("::", "->"))
            i += 1

selectedLayer = rs.GetInteger(
            "which layer?", -1, 1, len(matchingLayers))
        if selectedLayer == None:
            return
        layerToRename = matchingLayers[selectedLayer - 1]

layerName = ("NEWNAME")
    layerToRename.Name = layerName
    layerToRename.CommitChanges()
    return

if __name__ == "__main__":
    rename()

After this is done, I start it over with the next “Old / New” names.

I have an excel .xlsx file but can’t figure out how to get it to open, then lookup the correct old name and replace it with the correct new name.

As you can see below, our layer structure