Rhino out of memory, Neon rendering often crashes computer

I’ve been using Neon for a few months now, and I’ve been pretty happy with the results. In most cases I can pump out a rendering that I’m satisfied with within a few minutes of opening the file. Occasionally I get files that need to be rendered at full screen, with a high reflection material and more than a few lights. I run my task manager and view the performance of my machine to make sure Rhino doesn’t crash, or my machine doesn’t lock up. With these render heavy files, I typically accept that my image size will be constrained by the size of my monitor, and always use the ViewCapturetoFile command, for a quick way to produce a finished rendering.

I feel fairly sure that I am using the software incorrectly, but I have slipped into this workflow over time and find it easier than working out an actual solution as my job often provides little to no time to produce a nice image.

Does anyone have advice for using Neon correctly? or is there a better freeware render engine that someone could suggest? I’m getting to the point now that many of my files are just too much to render, and I can’t reliably produce renderings when I can’t trust my computer to not crash when I use Neon.

It doesn’t sound like you’re doing anything wrong with Neon to me. If you have a specific file that crashes, send it to tech@mcneel.com to my attention or post it here and I’ll take a look. I suppose the one thing that comes to mind is that there may be a lot of lights… but how many is a lot? If you decrease the number of lights does that prevent the crash? Also, does the Rhino crash reporter pop up and did you send in the crash file with a description?

Brian,

Thanks for the response. The file is somewhat large: ~50mb. Do you have a method by which you would like to receive it?
Also, here is an image of my cpu performance when I render in Neon:

File: