Quadro AND Gtx?

Has anyone else experience trying to run two different cards in their machine? Any feedback on driver issues/clashes/general hassle would be appreciated.

I thought the Titan X was the 2-in-1 answer, until I read that the double precision wasn’t as the original Titan: http://www.anandtech.com/show/9059/the-nvidia-geforce-gtx-titan-x-review/15

Really need a solution that is good for large architectural models far from origin, and quick GPU renders in Cycles (but without the cost of an m6000).

Anyone using GTX cards for large models in Rhino?

Thanks

Are quadro’s really better than GeForce on far from origin models? I have not noticed, but then I never work with far from origin models, we always set up a project origin.

Hi Holo,

I really don’t know, I’ve got no prior experience with GeForce cards - It doesn’t sound like it!

I’ve only used Quadro’s previously, but now I need a more effective rendering option the GeForce are hard to not take a second look at.

I didn’t know it was possible to ‘project an origin’?!

…am I being paranoid about double floating point precision and it’s benefit for Rhino?

No, what we do is that we put a mark at origin with text data information about where that point is in real life, and also a true north arrow if the project is rotated (large buildings with 90 degrees angles are easier to draw when aligned with X and Y)

Many of the architects we work with uses GeForce cards as many softwares now uses DirectX instead of OpenGL, according to them there are no real benefits in spending the extra cash for those apps.

I think the double point precision are mainly for precision calculations (medical and engineering) and not for modelling. Anybody correct me if I am wrong!

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/307548-33-double-precision-graphic-cards

Thanks for that tip, makes perfect sense…