Python Error..Help! Not sure why

Sorry I am new to python and learning from this exact video and not yielding the same results. (See in GH file on the top left corner)

Can anyone give me a pointer?

Thanks in advance! Python for Recursive Aggregation.gh (24.8 KB)

Hi @tamsamantha06,

Yes. At it again, eh? :slight_smile:

Sanchez’s method for getting the face boundary vertices was a little over-engineered, so I simplified it. He got the end points for each line segment of a surface boundary, which produces quite a lot of duplicate points and this is where the main issue comes from. Each line segment shares a vertex with the one before and after it, meaning that for closed surface boundaries you get duplicates for each vertex.
Also getting the surface center point is superfluous for this example!

rs.OrientObject() tries to construct a plane from the points that are provided. I believe it at least needs three distinct points to find the x- and y-axes of a plane. If you select point_list[0], point_list[1], and point_list[2] as the source points, and point_list[1] and point_list[2] are duplicates of each other, the plane construction fails, because you only provide two distinct points!

Furthermore, you have to pay attention that the indices of the selected vertices are not beyond the available vertex count. For tri faces only indices 0, 1, 2 are available and for quads 0, 1, 2, 3!
Negative indices can be used in Python to get items in reverse. For example, -1 gets you the last item from a list.

2020-12-05 11-50-51.2020-12-05 11_53_18

Here’s the revised code:

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs

def get_vertices(srf):
    border = rs.DuplicateSurfaceBorder(srf)
    vertices = rs.PolylineVertices(border)
    vertices.pop(-1)
    return vertices

def aggregate(obj, point_list, count):
    source = [point_list[0], point_list[1], point_list[2]]
    target1 = [point_list[-1], point_list[-2], point_list[-3]]
    target2 = [point_list[0], point_list[-1], point_list[-2]]