Problem when using fillet commands - "Failure in building corners"

Hi there, I’m rather new to rhino. I have come across several issues I haven’t been able to solve while trying to fillet my polysurface as seen below. Using FilletEdge the error “Failure in building corners” pops up when I try using it on this edge. When using FilletSrf the error “Failed to “split” first surface” pops up. The edge on the opposite side of the polysurface has the same errors.

Let me know if there is a different command or series of commands that I should use that would work better.

Here is the Rhino File.

Fillet Problem.3dm (10.5 MB)

Thanks in Advance

Hi Neil - those faces come tangent, or very nearly, to one another there at the corner - the complex face to the right has its edges tangent to each other at the point.

Where untrimmed adjacent edges are tangent, the surface normal is undefined and offseting fails - ofsetting is a part of filleting, behind the scenes, and I guess this is where it is all falling apart. It may be tricky anyway with the scooped out face coming tangent to the bottom face but let’s fix the one thing first - I’d make it like so -

wher the edge is trimmed off of a more rectangular surface rather than having the surface UVs coming to a point

-Pascal

The problem is you have created a degenerate surface that will cause many commands to fail. Here is a file showing how to make the surface so that it is not a bad object.
FilletProblemx.3dm (259.3 KB)

1 Like

Thanks Pascal.

Makes a lot more sense now. What commands/procedure did you use to create that rectangular surface exactly? Sorry creating surfaces are still a little new to me.