Please help

Hi,

I’m new to rhino and have a problem. I joined 2 open polysurfaces together (in the OBJECT-layer) and the command line says it created 1 close polysurface, but when i’m in rendered view it doesn’t look like a normal close polysurface, I can see the second surface through the first surface. Furtheremore, I’m now trying to cut the closed polysurface from the OBJECT-layer by using Wire cut. The cutting curve is the closed polyline in the ref 2-layer. When I try this nothing happens. I believe this might be, because there’s something strange going on with the closed polysurface.

R0037_temp.3dm (962.2 KB)

Greetings,

Steven

Hoi Steven -
If you explode that object, select one part of it, and look at it in the Front view, you will see that the one half that you have selected crosses the Y-axis. The same for the other half. When joining these, the outside of that object at the top becomes the inside of that object at the bottom - the object self-intersects.
Rhino has no way of telling what is in and what is out and all kinds of strange things will happen.
-wim

1 Like

I noticed the same issue. I exploded your model, extruded the wire and splitted the ‘ring’. I noticed it is intersecting at the bottom so i left that part intact.

R0037_temp_return.3dm (1.1 MB)

Oh yes, I see what you mean. Thank you. It isn’t supposed to intersect the Y-axis.

I tried to explode the OBJECT and cut it with a line on the Y-axis, but this doesn’t seem to work. How can I cut the object with the Y-axis?

I’m assuming that you’ll want some material on the bottom side of the ring as well and, so, cutting on the Y-axis won’t get you much further. As it is, the intersection between a plane and one of the ring surfaces is a mess and your better option is to create a correct surface from scratch.
-wim