Placing and transforming blocks in Grasshopper

Hey guys,

Im a newbie at grasshopper, so bear with me. I have a point cloud which I want to use for placing blocks, and constraining them between an upper and lower point. Right now I’m able to place the blocks, but been trying for some time to find a way to transform the blocks to the right constrain.

Placing blocks at the bottom point. And I want to size it depending on the distance between upper and lower point.

I’m able to place the standard block, but unable to change its size.

Appreciate some help!

The Scale NU component doesn’t support Blocks as far as I am aware. There are ways to transform blocks using I think the Human Plugin or the Legopod Plugin (used to be called Instance Manager). You will still use the Scale NU, but don’t; plug any Geometry and use the transform output. There should be something like Transform Block in Human or Legopod.

Be aware that Blocks are not officially supported in Grasshopper, therefore dealing with them is always a bit of a mess, but still possible. I am not on my PC right now, so I can’t show you. But if you look at those 2 plugins you will find what you need.

Roughly you need to: Evaluate the Block to get the bounding box of them > Get the height of the block > Get the distance between the 2 points > calculate the scaling factor > Use the Scale NU to create a matrix transform > transform the block. Of course, you do this for all lines individually.

Hope that helps a bit.

1 Like

See attached:

A rather simple entry level take on that matter (no nesting for instance) plus some demo instances to play around.

Instances_place_GPUCPUtests_35_V1.gh (157.3 KB)
Instaces_for_tests.3dm (5.0 MB)

Good news: places, scales (various options - see 3nd C#) and rotates Instance Definitions using either points or planes or a BrepFace. Like:

Bad news: is pure C# (life sucks).