PIL or Photoshop: What's better for image editing?

I am trying to script a composite function and I am wondering if I would be better off using Pillow or Photoshop? I have tried using PIL’s composite function before and had difficulty getting it to execute the way I wanted. I am just learning about the psd-tools package for image editing. Any scripting geeks on here have any advice for me on what’s better, or any pointers on what to watch out for?

psd-tools is read support for .psd files, and needs Pillow to be able to work. Pillow is a good package for image editing through scripting, and in my view supersedes PIL.

/Nathan

1 Like

Thanks for clarifying. I am probably going to go ahead and use Photoshop. How is PIL different from Pillow?

So, maybe my understanding is egregiously wrong here, but my idea is that using PIL will not rely on opening any external application, whereas using psd-tools/Pillow will call Photoshop. If this is the case, will render times be affected in the event that I use Photoshop?

Please read the About Pillow document for further information on Pillow vs PIL. The same documentation will tell you more about technical differences.

psd-tools itself is a PSD file parser. It does not rely on Photoshop.

/Nathan

1 Like

Hi Bhupati,

For what it is worth: have a look at GIMP http://www.gimp.org/.
It’s an open source image editing software similar to Photoshop.
There are many options to automate and script and might be of use to you.

some references:

http://www.gimp.org/docs/python/

HTH
-Willem

1 Like

Thanks much, @Willem for these resources! I did come across GIMP scripting a couple times in my research, but I was a little scared when I read that using the GIMP Python plug-in is not really useful. What would you say are the advantages of using GIMP scripting over PIL? Just FYI, I’m well aware of GIMP application (and really love it), just not for scripting :-]