PEP-ping Python Examples

(IVELIN PEYCHEV) #1

Is it just me or other also think <> in IronPython examples in RhinoCommon to be very weird looking.

I’m not a programmer but I’ve always used != and if I haven’t used DS scripting language EKL I wouldn’t have ever known what <> is.

e.g.: (I’ll skip focusing on the two space_char indentation cuz that was already discussed)
https://developer.rhino3d.com/api/RhinoCommon/html/M_Rhino_DocObjects_RhinoObject_DuplicateGeometry.htm

from System import *
from Rhino import *
from Rhino.Commands import *
from Rhino.DocObjects import *
from Rhino.Input import *
from scriptcontext import doc

def RunCommand():

rc, obj_ref = RhinoGet.GetOneObject("Select object to duplicate", False, ObjectType.AnyObject)
  if rc <> Result.Success:
    return rc
  rhino_object = obj_ref.Object()

geometry_base = rhino_object.DuplicateGeometry()
  if geometry_base <> None:
    if doc.Objects.Add(geometry_base) <> Guid.Empty:
      doc.Views.Redraw()

return Result.Success

if __name__ == "__main__":
  RunCommand()

(Steve Baer) #2

Can you point me to the pep that you are referring to?

(IVELIN PEYCHEV) #3

I’m a script kiddie, my PEP is all the code snippets I’ve read and used my entire scripting life.

I have never seen <> used in Python. I’ve used it in DS.EKL because that’s the only (Not equal) sign there.

(IVELIN PEYCHEV) #4

Another thing here in this example Steve.

from System import *
from Rhino import *
from Rhino.Commands import *
from Rhino.DocObjects import *
from Rhino.Input import *
from scriptcontext import doc

def RunCommand():

rc, obj_ref = RhinoGet.GetOneObject("Select object to duplicate", False, ObjectType.AnyObject)

Can you tell me where RhinoGet.GetOneObject() is coming from when libraries are imported with * (asterisk)

(IVELIN PEYCHEV) #5

Little research in stack overflow:

It was taken from ABC (python’s predecessor) see here:
“”
I believe ABC took it from Pascal, a language Guido began programming with.