Orienting plane along a mesh surface to extract curves

Hello,

I was looking for a way to convert scanned data to a single surface. I am thinking of achieving it as depicted below,

If there is way I can orient a plane to the mesh geometry and extract the curves that highlight the boundary of the mesh so that I can loft them to get a tubular surface. Using this code, Try_Code_2.gh (8.1 KB) I was able to extract the boundaries of this mesh. Once the loft would be complete I’d trim the surface with these curves to hopefully get the final surface. If this is a viable method any tips to determine the deviation from the original surface? I

As I am still learning grasshopper would really appreciate some help,

Thank You so much

Try_Set_3.stl (158.5 KB)

I don’t know if I understood your attempt correctly, but if so, I tried doing part of the surface automated. If you think that this principle works for your purposes it could be extended to cover the entire mesh.

The surface is made from curves created by Plane-Mesh Intersections, which were divided and Interpolate Curve from the Division Points, and finally Lofted.

Finetuning the surface would start with increasing the number of Intersection Planes, then the Division of the resulting Loft-Curves and finally the ControlPoints (CPsU, CPsV). Sliders/Control Panel to set them all.

In order to do the entire surface you may still have to work with part-surfaces, as you would if making it manually (polysurfaces) to get around the hole for example.

Fig 1. Copy of final surface on top. The difference between Mesh and the Nurbs Srf is seen in the blending colors below.

Mesh_Isect_Edges_RE.gh (155.4 KB)

// Rolf

Good evening and Wow,

This is really what I wanted. This so cool.

I have a few questions, if thats ok?

The surface rebuild section, what connects to what? seems like a few connections were lost.

As for the section with the hole, I don’t understand how or what to do. Maybe you can link an example or something?