Open5x Grasshopper

I’ve been trying to figure out how to operate this guy’s open5x:

The grasshopper file that I am working with is called open5x_supportless_slicing_ver2.gh

The rhino file that I am working with is called Supportless_sample_2.3dm

I got the 5-axis printer all set up. Problem is this guy’s grasshopper is confusing.

I’m a beginner in Rhino and Grasshopper. Have no experience in CAD or coding.

In the author’s grasshopper file there are a bunch of orange boxes and wires as well as one red box.

I tried using google and ChatGPT to figure out what the errors mean, but I have no clue in changing the input stuff.

Any tips thank you!

Do you have Heteroptera installed?

Everything worked on the first try for me once i pushed the button

Yes, I have Heteroptra 0.7.3.5 installed

I am using the trial license version of Rhino 7.

Could you tell me the steps you did to get everything to work? Maybe I’m doing something wrong on my end. Sorry! complete beginner in Rhino and Grasshopper.

When I open the grasshopper file I get this even though I installed Heteoptera 0.7.3.5:

Then I get these windows popping up in the Grasshopper afterwards. I’m not too sure what I can do here:

After I clear those windows and opened both files, I got the grasshopper to automatically recognize the substrate and the supportless brep from the rhino CAD file and toggled it true like in your photo.

But then I get orange colored components on the upperside here:

I also got orange colored components and a red colored component on the lowerside here

Any help would be appreciated thank you!

I got the same warnings as well, except for the Center component, which is probably the .Net 6 dependency mentioned.

I was able to run it after cancelling the warnings & toggling to True.

Actually i misread that. How did you install Heteroptra? via package manager? or placing the .gha in the grasshopper components folder? If you placed the file you will need to right click and unblock.