Objects are located in two separate positions

Hello folks. My name is Justin Schumacher and I’m a school teacher. I started teaching the program Rhino this fall for the first time & I love it so far. I have experience using SolidWorks, AutoCAD and Inventor as well.
I have a student that created a file that has an issue that [so far] I have not seen yeat & do not have a solution to. The student created an object in Rhino. When he re-opened his file, the objects were located in two separate positions. One position was ‘selectable’ but only displayed as a wireframe. The second position was not able to be selected, and it was being displayed as a rendered object [the viewport was not set to rendered view]. There are a few objects with this issue. Additionally, the rendered, un-selectable objects are all located down the ‘X’ axis.

Any help that anyone can give me will help me, and renew my students faith in me!! hahaha.

Thanks in advance for the help

Justin

It might be helpful if you can post the file. Just grasping at straws here, I wonder if the objects might be very far from the origin, in that case what looks like a “rendered” view is the objects display mesh which no longer corresponds with the object ue to single point precision mesh calculations.

Are any of the objects bad (SelBadObjects)?

–Mitch

Also might be worth taking a look at your graphics drivers. Make sure you have fairly new drivers. That seems to fix a lot of display issues that we run across.

Dan

This used to happen a LOT with blocks, but seems to have gotten better. The frustrating thing about it is that it was never very repeatable, so creating a good example was never easy. If meshes in one place, wires in another bug is repeatable in your file, please post or send it in.

Sam

Full Robot.3dm (2.1 MB)

The only way i could upload was as a ‘small’ file. The issues [if they are visible] are located at the base of the ‘robot foot’