New to Rhino 6, need help!

Hello,

I am a newbie to the modeling world and I have worked previously with Sketchup, Solidworks, and Revit.
After I joined a company, I was asked to learn Rhino and it has been a week since I picked it up. To be honest I have struggled a lot with this program to do even some basic tasks. I just hope I can get some help from people who have experience with it. By the way I finished David’s online course on Linkedin Learning.

Let’s begin with the CPplane. I dont know if there is an option to directly draw on a planar surface, because currently I have been resetting CPplane a lot.

Also, I don’t know how some curves and surface work. For example, the curve always exits even after I have used it to create a surface…the problem is that the surface has its own edges and often the two things would get together and mess things up, especially when the project getting more complicated.

Finally, I wonder whether there is a way for me to draw lines on vertical plane in perspective view.

Any advise would be appreciated, I really want to learn this program and be good at it

It sounds like you’re trying to model in Rhino using the techniques you learned in SolidWorks.

Rhino is more like AutoCAD than like SW.

I’d recommend you skim through the tutorials in the User’s Guide.
That will be the fastest way for you to come up to speed with NURBS surface modeling in Rhino:
http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/6/usersguide/en-us/index.htm

2 Likes

In addition to the User’s Guide which John recommended the Level 1 and Leve 2 Training Manuals can be used as self guided tutorials. https://www.rhino3d.com/tutorials

1 Like

Yes, Level 1 training manual contains all the essential basic information you need to know when starting with Rhino. It discusses many tools that you will otherwise not find on your own. It is not a very exciting book to go through but very effective.

2 Likes