When you right-click in the Named View panel, you can set View Mode to List and get your number 2 wish.
As for number 1, I recall and just tested (I normally use List mode as I never got along with those thumbnails); the thumbnail is updated, reflecting the current scene when I close the dialog and call it again. I would think (and the help files seems to state) that “Auto-update thumbnails” would activate this behavior without closing and opening but I see no difference. I notice that the thumbnails are also updated (whether or not the option is ticked) when you restore a named view.
Post hijack & v6 wish: before this named view box got in its current state, I would easily get to restore views by only using the keyboard. In the current state one has to use the mouse. I wish that this could become more accessible again.