Modeling vs Building in Real

My question is this, when modeling do I have to construct every single part of a design or are some things standard? Could modeling be looked at as coding where you integrate other codes so that you’re not really reconstructing the wheel from ground up? As a new 3d artist I am trying to figure out info on things depending on the project like what type of screw, holes, etc should be used and some people just speak as though you “should know this”. So for my sanity I’m unsure of where to go to develop my knowledge. I don’t want my project to be about presentation any more I want something that is a working model. I want to have the knowledge to know in the real world how is it going to be put together which would greatly improve quality and design process.

Let’s say I’m build something simple as a table. Simple right? How would I know then how should this be translated in real? Screws must go somewhere, they must be a certain length, etc. Do you get this knowledge through experience only; should I have gone to a wood work class or read a book?

Secondly is there a way to simulate things so that I am not building things that aren’t really possible?

Hi @jamolbjames,

A lot depends on what you are modelling: if a table then screw placement will largely be governed by custom and practice. If an aeroplane, it would be by stress and loading calculations requiring degree level study. If jewellery then by aesthetics. You can’t design well in a knowledge vacuum.

Regards
Jeremy

2 Likes

Thanks man! What I get from your response is that there would be different focus areas and some research would still be needed even if you are competent in building things. There would be things that you don’t know and its okay long as you have the means to get the answer.