Modeling 3D textures - problem with blending curves

Hi All!

I am new to Rhino and am currently doing a lot of tutorials to get the knack of the basics of the program. Most problems so far I have been able to solve but with this one I require a bit more help.

The tutorial I am working on is the 3D texture modeling on the site. When working on the first texture you first need to split your curves on the surface and then use the blend option to extend your curve from one object to another. Somehow I cannot get this done, some work, and with others I cannot select the split curves. As if they seemingly don’t exist. I really do follow all the steps provided in the tutorial but am wondering if there might be slight adjustments in versions of the program?

I have attached my file and would be very grateful if someone could take a look at it and help me find out what I’'m doing wrong.

Many thanks in advance,
Morgan

tryout7_3dtextures.3dm (199.7 KB)

Hi Morgan - it may be that you are trying to blend to the surface isocurves - these indeed do not exist, as curves in the file, they are only properties of the surface and displayed on screen to help visualize the surfaces. The successful blends in your file have come off of the radial edge curves - these are also part of the surface but are generally accessible to commands that require curves.
To get what I think you want, you can use ExtractIsocurve using the ‘Quad’ odnap to extract radial direction isocurves that will respond to BlendCrv, or use the Edges option in BlendCrv to force the blend to come off the surface edges at 90 degrees.(Quad osnap as well). I’ll see if I can make you an example.

@Morgan_Ruben - see if the attached is what you are after - red = ExtractIsocurve, blue = BlendCrv, Green = BelndCrv with Edges option.

tryout7_3dtextures_PG.3dm (97.9 KB)

-Pascal