MeshIntersect and split planar surface along (attempted) split Mesh

Hi

I am new to Rhino, so apologies if this question has an obvious response. I have a mesh for a body (ship) that I want to create enclosed flat surface within (water surface). I don’t have the hull shape, only the panel model (node coordinates). The method I found for doing this it to create a rectangular surface along the desired plane and use MeshIntersect to generate a curve that I again would use to split the rectangular surface. The resulting interior surface is then to be meshed. When I try this method on one particular mesh, I get an error message that the split cannot be executed because the plane and curve may not intersect. When I study the curve it is closed and ends at the plane edges like it should. however I see that it has some points that are not visible in the mesh (see caption). Also when I export a mesh file (.GDF) and import to another program, I get panels that were not visible in Rhino. It seems the origin of the problem is that I exported the mesh from Blender where I had tried to split the mesh along a plane in order to produce a waterline. I then imported the mesh and used MeshRepair in Rhino. It seems however that the panels I wanted to split in two actually haven’t split (see caption). Also the program that uses the panel model for calculations tells me it does not have a closed waterline, which i suppose is because the panels didn’t split properly. This is the main reason why I have to split the mesh in the first place.

I hope someone here can guide me towards a solution to my problem. If possible I would prefer to use Rhino to split my mesh and not Blender, but I understand this is a weakness in Rhino. The goal of the process is WAMIT (.GDF) mesh files for diffraction analyses.

RhinoCapturePanel

Hei Helle -
Could you please post the 3dm file? It’s rather hard to tell what’s going on from the description and the pictures.
Hilsen,
-wim