Making Custom materials

I am just learning to use Rhino for mac, so I apologize in advance if my question is very basic. I want to use the program to plan large scale abstract granite sculptures and have been making good progress developing ideas. In the render materials I see that there is granite as well as sandstone, marble, and gravel. Is there a way to add custom materials to this. For example the granite color is grey granite and I would like to add pink, and some other variations to represent works that use a variety of colors. It would be ideal to photograph the actual granite colors and add them as custom materials. Is there a way to do that?
Thank you

You can add any image file (like a photo) to the color channel of any material added to the model. Either make a new material in the material editor or drag one from the standard materials over to the model materials to edit it. After you have something that works well, drag that material over to the custom materials section of the editor. This custom material will then be available in any new document.

The tricky part with using photos as texture maps in the color channel, is to make sure they are tileable. Otherwise, you’ll get a seam when they are repeated on a surface more than once. The texture mapping method for the model is also a factor. Display the texture mapping tool palette from the Window drop down menu to see the texture mapping options.

Thank you Brian,
I was able to add granite samples in the model editor. I haven’t had a problem with seams yet. Is there any way to adjust grain size? For example the design is 4 ft tall but has granite grain that would be on a one inch piece of granite viewed really close. I tried the brick in standard materials and the brick size would make it 10 ft tall. Is that what you meant by texture mapping? I was able to find the texture mapping in window but can’t see what to do after that.
Jesse

Jesse Salisbury