Make2D not working properly - Rhino 6 Windows

Hello everyone! This is my first post in the Rhino forum community.

I am an architecture student and I bought a Rhino 6 license to work on my projects at home on my laptop.
Lately I am struggling to get the Make2D command work: I have a site with buildings downloaded from Digimap.com (educational website for topography and other terrain data) and when I make 2D in Isometric view many lines are missing.

I work in millimeters and I already tried to reduce the absolute tolerance from 0.01 to 0.0001

Note: In my uni, with Rhino 5 it works just fine.

Any suggestions?

If your buildings are georeferenced, it is likely they are pretty far from the world origin. You might try moving your scene temporarily closer to the world origin and run Make2D again and see if that works better…

Hi! Unfortunately it did not change much.
I noticed the same problem also on other geometries which I made with polysurfaces.

Can you post a small sample file so we can test and perhaps submit a bug report? Thx, --Mitch

Another work-around angle: I believe that with your Rhino 6 license, even if it’s educational, you are able to download and install Rhino 5 along with your 6 and use it. You might want to look into this.

Yep. But we would also like to know what’s wrong with V6 and fix it if possible… :thinking:

Have you try to clean your 3d model before doing make2D?
Try a “boolean union” and after that “make2D”.

Here is the file with the buildings on the site:

Make2D-Site.3dm (10.3 MB)

@Architex I think the model is fairly clean because it works well on Rhino 5.

@AlW That’s how I am working right now but I would love to get this fixed because: 1. Rhino 6’s Make2D is much faster than in R5; 2. It’s annoying to always export .3dm as Rhino 5 file and always have to change between the two versions; 3. Rhino 5 is not optimized for high-res screens making the entire interface very ‘meeehh’ .

Thanks for the help guys!