Keyshot 3 problem

Hello everybody !

I’m a french student and i’m actually working in a firm wich works on Rhino 5 and Keyshot 3. I never used Rhino before but that’s not the problem (I can learn… :slight_smile: )… In fact the problem comes when I launch Keyshot. I can import my Rhino model into the software and I can make my renders. But In my model I have a hidden part : a screw between two nuts (“une tige filetée” in French). I see every parts of the model but not the screw… I tried a few possibilities but I can’t find this part. And this part is really important because it maintains 13 transparent pieces (and you can the screw through the pieces)… But this part doesn’t exist in Keyshot so I can’t put a material on it…

There’s a screenshot of my model… You cans see the 13 PMMA pieces and the 8 nuts but there’s no screw in the hole…

Do someone have a solution or an ideai to solve my problem please ?

Hi Alexandre
My guess is that you have lightweight extrusions (LE) turned on. LE is a new thing in Rhino5 that will help keep file sizes down if you have a lot of extrusions. Use the command “SelExtrusion” to locate any extrusions and “ConvertExtrusion” to convert it/them into ordinary polysurfaces. If you want to skip using the lightweight extrusions alltogether, you can run the command “UseExtrusions” and select polysurfaces as the prefered output - this will be remembered the next time you start Rhino, so you only have to run it once.
HTH, Jakob

1 Like

I of course should mention, that Keyshot doesn’t recognize the lightweight extrusions and that’s why you’re not seeing it in KS :smile:

Interesting. I don’t use Keyshot, but I’m curious: Does this come about because Rhino’s exporter to a Keyshot-compatible format doesn’t automatically (or by option) convert lightweight extrusions to polysurfaces or is it because Keyshot’s .3dm importer doesn’t recognize them?