Join closed polysurfaces

Hi everyone,

I am new to 3D modeling and aparently started with a project that is over my head. I need to turn the helmet into one piece so I can proceed to prototyping. I have tried boolean union but it does not work. Any idea what might be the problem or other command I could use?

Thank you in advance!

versão final capacete de soldar.3dm (11.1 MB)

Hello - start by removing (ExtractSrf) all if the internal ‘fins’,

then Join the remaining parts - see how far that gets you.

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,

Thank you for your help. But it did not work. I think I did it correctly. It resulted in open polysurfaces. I need closed polysurfaces.

versão final capacete de soldar_FORUM.3dm (9.8 MB)

Right well, ‘didn’t work’ is a bit extreme - what it means is you’re not done yet.

Some surfaces do not join - meaning, normally that the edges are out of tolerance - visibly so if you look:

So you’ll need to tune these up and then move on to the next problem, if any. MatchSrf should help you here.
There are a lot of problems to deal with here - may surfaces have edges out of tolerance and/or twisted … I’d rethink how you got here, it might be less work to build it cleanly from scratch.
-Pascal

Sorry didn’t mean to sound rude or anything, I am still learning and these “details” are all new to me.
Well, I have been modelling it for a month now more and less… this is a school project and I have to deliver it soon. Unfortunately I kind of need to learn this on my own so I just tried my best. I will try however to rebuilt it. Do you have any advise on how I can achieve this shape with this curvatures without doing the errors I made?