Instance/Block procedural sweep profile for sweep 1 rail (procedural)

Hello guys!

I started learning Rhino and Grasshopper a week ago so I am still a total newbie.
The reason I am posting this is because I find it hard to grasp how Rhino and Grasshopper
communicate and since I have a history with 3ds max I naturally tend to look for ways to emulate
familiar workflows in Rhino and GH.
I could not find simple and I mean really simple tutorials on Grasshopper which would help me with my problem hence I hope you guys will help me.

I drew a little diagram for better understanding.

What I am trying to do is to generate sweep profiles from curves (rectangles /w fillets) which I can then manipulate any time to try out different iterations
once they are incorporated in 5 different sweep 1 rail functions.
I set up a “sweep profile” at position 0,0,0 in 3d space and would like make an instance of it and move and rotate that instance of that sweep
profile to/at another position in 3d space (at the beginning of a rail curve).
There is however no “block” function in Grasshopper and I can not select the curve primitive rectangle in the Rhino viewport to “block”/instance it.
Ok, and when I draw the rectangle in the Rhino viewport and define it as such in GH I am not able to procedurally define width and height… :-/
Please, what am I doing wrong? How would you go about it?

This is my GH so far:

Kind regards,
Octavia

Does using an Orient component do what you need?

I think the leap to a block concept is to think of the left most component (of the geometry) as the ‘block’. If you Move, Copy, Orient etc within the GH def, you’re creating instances.

Some of these tutorials may be helpful too.

Hello Brian,

Wow, that was fast.
Basically, yes! The Orient component does what I expected …BUT…
the problem with this method is

1. the rail curve is not in the mid-point of the sweep profile curve but at the corner of “your rectangle”