"Insert Edge Loop" for Polylines and/or Isocurves?

Hi Guys,

I’m pretty new to Rhino and come from 3DS Max. Basically, I have to draw Polylines onto the surface of some dense scanned data, then convert them to Isocurves so the tool I have can work with the data. The problem is that if I need to insert another line, I have to draw it manually as a Polyline then convert to an Isocurve. If there was a way to add another "loop’ like the attached GIF by selecting the edges I would like to add the loop to that would be great. I’m skeptical that such a thing could work on the Isocurves while still following the surface of the scanned data, but if this is possible it would save a little more time I think than doing it as a Polyline and then converting to Iso.

To be honest, I kind of expect the answer to be “no, that’s not how Rhino does things”, but I couldn’t determine this on my own and I need to give my boss a definitive yes or no. Apologies if I’ve asked this in a weird way, left some info out or used an incorrect term, I’m a bit scatter brained these days so bear with me :blush:

Thanks for any feedback you have guys, it is very much appreciated!!

edgeLoop|424x356

Hello - I am not sure what you mean by this - presumably the ‘dense scan data’ are meshes or points - these do not have isocurves… you’d need a surface to have isocurves. Are you trying to reverse engineer a mesh to surfaces?

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,

Sorry about the confusion. That is correct, the dense scanned data is a polygonal mesh. The only way I could find to draw lines that conform to the surface of the polygon data was to use polylines. Once I have these lines that are on the surface of the data, I needed to convert them using Rebuild so they are usable by a tool I have.