Image sampler on Louvers

Hi everyone, I’m working on creating an image sampler on some louvers and got somewhere pretty decent.
I’ve run into 3 areas that I would gladly have your help/advice.

1. Louvers - I based them off a grid and lofted at the end which might not have been the best method.
    I would like to have better control of the louvers. Specifically Spacing, thickness, min max depth, size of grid and orient to Z plane.

2. Boundaries of image sampler
    I think the sampling is working and doing what i want it to, but I cant get it to fit within my boundaries. See image for detailed explanation.

3. Clunkiness
    I’m still learning grasshopper so i might be doing things really inefficient. This is causing my grasshopper changes to take about a 30-45 seconds to load on rhino.

Please excuse the poor quality images. Grasshopper file attached below as well. Rhino units are set to Inches.

Image being sampled

IMAGE ATTRACTOR.gh (56.1 KB)

1 Like

Hope it helps you out.

IMAGE ATTRACTOR_re.gh (55.5 KB)

3 Likes

Running smooth! Thanks HS_Kim!

Hi,

I am new to Grasshopper and am trying to learn how to use this script. I was able to upload my image, and everything seems to be running smoothly, but I am not sure how to space out the louvers?

I realised the domain start and end was for the extension of the louvers, and extent x and y control the overall size of the surface, but how do I change the spacing and width?

The size slider in the definition.

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your quick reply! The size slider changes the size of the surface. So when I turn it to 10, then x shows as 7110 and y becomes 10240. When I make it 1, it goes back to 711 and 1024.

So I don’t believe the slider is the solution unfortunately

So I don’t believe the slider is the solution unfortunately