I need demsions with length width and height

I have been using design cad 3D for at least fifteen years and started using this far better software about two years ago. I use cad software for many things from designing tables for trade shows to high end jewelry. I am in the process of designing some new tables for an upcoming trade show and need help if possible.

In design cad 3D when you click on an item such as a 2X4 and then use Ctrl and I on the keyboard a box opens up and shows the properties of the object one being length width and height. This said I have just spent enough time searching help and such in Rhino that I am desperate for an answer.

My question, is there a command that I can either click or open that will give me the dimensions of a rectangular object such as a 2X4 or a sheet of ply wood, this makes it quite easy to make a list of materials needed so any help would be more than welcome.

All my best … Danny

The BoundingBox command with the command line output option set to None push those numbers to the command line.

Danny, I think BoundingBox will do what you want. The limitation is that if the 2x4 isn’t aligned with the axes then it won’t be accurate. I think Pascal has a script for non-aligned object bounding boxes.

I will go try this right now I pretty much knew there was an easy way to do this and I am 99% sure you two are right. Thanks for the quick feedback John and Nick

All my best … Danny

Hey Danny, I kind of like boxedit (be) for stuff like this if I just need to read the box volume. Perfect for objects that are aligned with the cplane, just easy click and see the numbers in the fields. No way to export the data from boxedit though. Find a script or use bounding box for that.

For non-aligned objects, set cplane to object. That will align the cplane to simple rectilinear shapes and give correct volume dimensions in boxedit (and bounding box too of course).