I don't think I understand flow along surface

I am a beginner and so I’m still learning. One thing I’ve run into is that I don’t think I understand what’s going on when I try to use Flow along surface. I will try to post screenshots when I get back to the computer that I"m doing it on.

I’m trying to make a piece of armor, basically a fancy shin guard. I have the shape of the leg (with a little flare that I want the shin guard to take at the bottom) as a surface, and then the shape of the shin guard on another surface. My plan was t flow the shape of the shinguard onto the leg surface and then start exctruding the surfaces and go from there. But when I do that its not doing what I thought it would.

There could be a much better way to do what I want to do too, I just don’t know it yet. So if you know it I would be grateful if you let me know.

So far I’ve been doing everything based off of youtube videos and self teaching and experimenting. I think the time has come where I try to take a class or something to learn how to 3d model and use 3d modeling tools. If you know of good ones, I’d like to know of them so I can sign up, even if they cost some money.

I’ll post screenshots in just a few minutes.

This is a picture that shows all three items:

The leg with the flare at the bottom, the object I want to put onto the leg, and the result when I currently try it.

In the picture the bottom part of the surface is cut from the rest because I was trying to see if that was the problem, but the same result happens even when it is all uncut.

Any ideas?

The _FlowAlongSrf command basically maps the curve from the original surface to the new surface - you can imagine the rectangular surface you modeled the curve on as being stretched around your “leg”.

In this case I think the _Project command may be the better choice for what you want to do. However it might help if you submit your model as well.