How to get CLR from CPP

Hi,

I spent the last couple of days researching different methods to instantiate the CLR from C++ application. But the latest information I’ve found is for dotnet 2.0 with some unsuccessful attempts upto 4.0.

Could you please reveal something (McNeel)? How do you do it?
Are you using COM?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Or perhaps you do C++ -> C++/CLI -> C# ?
As I understand P/Invoke only works with functions, but not classes.

I’m no expert in this topic but I still like to share my understandings.

You don‘t necessarily need to create a managed c++ wrapper to call unmanaged c++ within c#. Its just a smarter working way because it leaves the „bridging“ within C++. Anyway in my opinion you should not share objects, I‘m not even sure if this is actually truly possible. Just to name one reason: In C++ a class is not necessarily allocated on the heap but it can also be on the stack. So an unmanaged C++ class is not equal to a C# class, its just doing the same. Its allows better encapsulation of logic.So usually you create new objects by always passing the primitive-type data. This process is called Marshaling and has of cause an overhead. So a better way is always to prevent this in the first place or at least doing it on the most basic way possible, by sharing primitive data.

1 Like

From my understanding you are trying to call C++ from C#? If so P\Invoke works well. If your trying to call C# from C++ then look into the clr flag for the msvc compiler. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/dotnet/native-and-dotnet-interoperability?view=vs-2019

Hi @TomTom, Hi @alexander.mcrae,

Thanks for replying.

What I want is being able to make a closed (not having the cpp and h files) unmanaged application launch a clr so that I can add c# and hopefully later on an ironpython support to it.