How to extract a group of DataTree Branches in C#?

I am using DataTree to store both Floor and programs information. {A,B}[i], A refs to levels, and B refs to layerIndexes. [i] as breps to represent actual floors.

I am run into problem that I want to extract pathes which have the same value A. Then i can how many B in A? for example, i want to get all [-2,B][i] as a group.

is there easy way in C#?

Assuming that you know the basics of C# (classes, queries (LINQ) etc etc):

Create a custom class with Properties suitable for your scope. Like:

Then create a List < BuildInfo > buildInfo = new List < BuildInfo >();
Then populate the List.

Then is simply a matter of entry level LINQ type of queries (simple or nested).

Notify if you want an indicative random demo.

1 Like

Many thanks. I am new to C#.
I can mostly understand your code. A random demo would be very nice. :slightly_smiling_face:

without c#

separate out all beginning with the same index

1 Like

Good to know the other way ! Thanks Christopher.

However, my model(hospital) has 10 dfferent floors, each floor has 30-40 different programs which will need lots grasshopper components, which I don’t want.

My final goals are to:

1. extrac each floor’s areas/programs/location data and write into excle;

2. calculated all some programs accross different floors in the building;
    FAR…share areas, Traffic efficiency…ect…

I find DataTree is pretty hard for me to manipulate data.

After PeterFotiadis told me to use LINQ, I think it would be a nice way for me. I start to learn LINQ now.

Get a start point on that matter:

Buildings_BuildInfoClassDemo_V1.gh (118.5 KB)

BTW:

1. In our trade Geometry is nothing (even kids can do it) while MetaData mining is everything (even pros can’t do it). The MetaData thingy goes far and away from BIM (as the vast majority of Architects understand the term) … and targets the holistic PLM (Project Life Cycle data management).