How To Emboss A Coaster

I am new to Rhino Mac and I am struggling with using ExtrudeCrv to create a simple coaster. I extruded a simple circle and then imported a pdf with path data I wish to use to emboss. I can extrude the imported data, center it in the object with the gumball, but Extrude doesn’t seem to cut back into the circle.

I tried to use Boolean Difference to cut the pdf curves out of the coaster base but just cannot seem to figure out what I am doing wrong.

I am new and wondered if someone would mind lending a hand.

coaster.3dm (2.5 MB)

Thanks
Jerold

You need to first make closed polysurfaces from those extrusions. You can do this by using the “Cap” command on your extrusions. If you then do Boolean Difference, it works.

Also, if you would like to automatically make a closed polysurface when you extrude you need to make sure Solid=Yes after you’ve selected your curves.

Thank you very much. I really appreciate your help.

I am still struggling a bit but getting closer. I capped both extrusions, but the boolean difference dose not seem to be removing the embossing object.

When I extrude the starburst portion, should I start at the depth I want to emboss then raise it above the cylinder object?

Coaster2.3dm (2.4 MB)

If the embossing curves form one or more closed, planar curves, you can use the MakeHole command.
Max.

I have the extrusion into the base body and then using BooleanDifference, first select the coster to subtract from and then the embossed design to subtract with. The process runs, but the embossed extrusion stays in place.

Not sure what I am doing wrong!

If the embossing curves form one or more closed, planar curves, you can use the MakeHole command.

My embossed curves are from a pdf file with flat vector drawings. They drawings are closed and then after resizing, I extrude them as a solid. I tried MakeHole and could not get it to work.

starburst.pdf (769.6 KB)