How to do relative file paths in a plugin folder

I’m new to this so please be patient. I am creating a custom toolbar for a client that will be distributed out to multiple users across the enterprise. Some of these buttons contain Python code and others >Open / Import 3dm files and load .gh scripts. The desire is to have the lot of these files and scripts in the rhino/plugins/rcmsub folder. I would then bundle everything into a .rhi for distribution.

What is the path to call these files / scripts from a tool button?

When I release a new .rhi will it overwrite previous files with the same name?

Is there a way to automatically clean out the /rcmsub folder before loading in the new files?

Many thanks for all input.
Robb

Hi Robb,

I’ve had to give this a bit of thought since it’s not a use-case that I’ve come across before!

I have a suggestion, but ultimately this is not something that the Rhino Installer Engine was designed to do!

You could create a plug-in which acts as a proxy for the commands that are called by the buttons. For each button you would have a custom command which – using a similar technique to deploying toolbars – could figure out where the .RHI had been installed and find the scripts/files. You could then run the Rhino command from your custom command.

As a bit of background on the Rhino Installer Engine, consider a .RHI with the name “awesome plug-in” and the version “1.0.0” being installed for Rhino 6; this would be installed to %APPDATA%\McNeel\Rhinoceros\6.0\Plug-ins\awesome plug-in (<unique id>)\1.0.0.

Alternatively, I’d suggest exploring a different installation framework, such as MSI.

Thanks for the input Will.