How to design a Jighead (pyramid with bent edges)

Hi there

I’m struggling to design a dartjig (fishing weight). lofting the surface seems not to work or doesn’t create the exact surface I want to create.

I don’t need the hook, nor anything embossed, just the body.

Can anybody help me?

Here’s a picture of a dartjig:

Check this video to see the shape in 3d (it’s the one in the middle): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuFaclf3UJk

Here’s my unsuccessful attempt:

Dartjig_1.3dm (3.4 MB)

Thanks for any advice! I’m kinda new to Rhino.

Hello - is this shape more or less what you are after?

Dartjig_1_Maybe.3dm (434.5 KB)

-Pascal

Hi Pascal
Thanks for your help. Unfortunately I can’t open the file since I’m working with rhino7.
Could you save it that I can open it?

From What I can see in the small preview picture its close to what I’m after. Only the bottom is also a bent surface not flat.
Thanks!

Hi -

You can find two file converters from this topic:

Here’s Pascal’s file in the Rhino 7 version:
Dartjig_1_Maybe-RH7.3dm (434.5 KB)
-wim

1 Like

Thanks @wim @pascal for your help.
Yes, the shape comes quite close to my idea. But the tip is too pointed and the underside should also be curved, not flat.

1. What was your approach for this design?
  2. How could I add the missing things (rounder tip, underside curved)?

Thanks a lot!
Gabe

Dartjig_try.3dm (399.9 KB)
I used your original guide curves. Not sure if this is what you want, but some commands:

1. You should try Sweep2, which can allow you to create a surface by “sweeping” a curve along 2 other curves.
  2. You can also use Patch to create faces.
  3. FilletEdge will give a curved edge.

Hello- I was not making it for you - you know the design - just trying to give an idea how to proceed.

-Pascal

Thanks a lot @andreaw I’ll try that.

@pascal
Of course. I was not expecting somebody making it for me. I’d like to learn.