How to create this kind of shape?

Hi,

I am quite new to working in 3D with Grasshopper and decided to set a few challenges to myself so I get a better overview of the different tools available (components) and learn how to use them.

As a first exercise I have tried to come up with a shape similar to this piece of furniture by gt2P studio called “Suple”.

From the brief description available on their website I understand that:

• the initial shape is a 3D Convex Hull polygon encompassing several extruded rectangles
  • that volume is then digitally smoothed out through subdivision

Here is the diagram provided to illustrate this process:

There is however a few things puzzling me with this information:

1/ The shading on the top right figure seems to indicate that the extruded rectangles (white) span beyond the bounding volume (black) in the Z direction. As if they were passing through it instead of simply being encompassed by it.

2/ The same shading also suggests the presence of a new vertex near the center, between the rectangles. Logically, that point shouldn’t belong to the bounding volume.

3/ There doesn’t seem to be any explanation regarding the transformation of the bounding volume into the shape shown in the bottom left corner. I have tried different strategies to derive such a shape from a convex hull (springs, isocurves, alpha shape) but to no avail.

Questions:

• What steps am I missing ?
  • Why the addition of a new vertex near the center and what decides its position ?
  • How to derive the final shape (step 3, before subdivision) from the convex hull ?

Would love some help !

Here is the best I could do so far:

Suple test.gh (24.7 KB)

5 posts were split to a new topic: Towers blended on a base

Thank you for the kinds replies.